Fashion Local Stuff Photography Politics Uncategorized

What I need to do now!

For the past few weeks or so I have been debating with myself on the topic of photography and my future. I’ve been asking myself: “Is this really what you want to do?”  And the answer has always been yes, but in varying levels of  enthusiasm and passion. I know it’s what I want to do but I’m not pleased with myself and my lack of passion towards actually taking photos. I haven’t really shot anything that I spent a lot of time on and subsequently been proud of. Perhaps it’s because I haven’t focused on what I know I can do now and only on what I want to get to. Maybe so, but I feel as though there is much more to my lack of confidence and enthusiasm.

Maybe if I were to stop looking for “inspiration'” and just shoot what’s already on my mind I could actually produce something worthwhile. I mean I have a camera and no school on weekends. Seems perfect huh? Not really. I always seem to get up on weekends lazy as ever and not artistically inspired! What am I to do?!

I need a muse or something!

5 Comments on “What I need to do now!”

  1. I was looking through my archives today and I have taken nearly 150,000 pictures this year. That may seem like a lot, but it weeds way down to two hundred or so that I will say okay I think I will process that one. Out of those around 100 I will ever sell.
    So, yes it does take dedication and a passion.

    Sometimes, I am up at 4am to get that shot. And, many times I am not back till after dark. There is a unique joy in photography and once that bug grabs you, you can’t let go.

    My advice is not to give up. You may put your camera down for awhile. But it will be there when you get that good feeling back. And, if you are not careful photography will drive your life.

  2. Quito says:

    150,000? Wowser!

    Thank you for your advice. Also, I have been bitten by the “bug”, though the symptoms usually come and go. So to speak. Thanks again!

  3. My best advice (me coming from pretty much the same position as you) is to carry your camera with you when you go out. For me inspiration comes at varying moments, usually when I’ve left my camera behind. Inspiration cannot be planned out; it sort of comes at you when you least expect it, you just have to be prepared.

  4. Quito says:

    Yeah. I’ve been thinking about doing that from now on. I just don’t want to take it to school.

  5. synthfrisyr says:

    Study some art! Like futurism. Or Expressionist… Or:

    http://backspegelbilder.wordpress.com – I found this post by you after writing about my own future… Just an idea, check the mirrorimages.


Leave a Reply

