Fashion Local Stuff Photography Politics Uncategorized

The season I fell in love with music…again.

Whether it’s because I’ve been stuck in the house for too long or spending too much time on the Internet, it’s both, my discovery of new music has increased. While much of the new music I have started to listen to has been around for quite some time I still feel all geeked out when I hear an awesome track. During my winter break I’ve rediscovered the power of Last.Fm. Spending just an hour on the website will introduce you to a numerous amount of artists; too much sometimes actually. But once you get through all the “Recommendations” that the site offers you’ll surely find something that stands from the rest. I haven’t had an experience like that yet so I’m still waiting.

Over on Pandora, though, I’ve had this “life altering” experience involving a few bands. See, what I like about Pandora is that once you “Like” an artist or song you hear more of said artist. In doing so you get attached to whoever you’re listening to. Now I know last.Fm has radio, and a darn fine one at that, but their radio set-up isn’t as in-depth as Pandora. ANYWAYS…in the past 3 months I have fallen in love with bands like the Maccabees, Maximo Park and the Kooks. Yeah, yeah, yeah! You may already know these bands! But I didn’t before and I’ve never been happier!

The purpose of this post originally was to highlight one song from a friends blog that I heard and liked. But it turned into more of a rant. So I present to you a track that really brings in the new year with a bang! The song is “Sweet Disposition (Alan Wilkis Remix)” by The Temper Trap and I first heard it  on The Mixed Tape by way of Ashley. I LOVE IT!

3 Comments on “The season I fell in love with music…again.”

  1. Ashley says:

    I love the Kooks! Honestly, I’ve heard of the other bands, but have never listened to them. Well, except your fun little reference/linkage to Yeah Yeah Yeahs, who I also love. It’s time for me to check out some new bands now!
    Go to musicisart.ws for the song! Idk when I downloaded it, but if you go back far enough on the site, you’ll find the song lol
    Did you see (500) Days of Summer? The only reason I know who that band is, and probably the reason they’ve gained popularity.

  2. johanna says:

    i really have to start using my acount on last.fm, I used to find the most random bands:)

  3. johanna says:

    i really have to start using my acount on last.fm, I used to find the most random bands:)
    stockholmandsouth.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.